One thing that many people do not realize when they decide to become a vegetarian is that meat and fish are often a hidden ingredient in some foods that you would not expect it to be. For example, Worcestershire sauce actually contains meat products. Jellies, yogurts, sauces, mousses, and cheeses may also contain gelatin or other types of animal fats. These are used to add different flavors or to change the consistency of the food.
When you decide to stop eating meat products it is important to begin checking the labels of the foods that you are eating. The best option to maintain a vegetarian lifestyle is to simply choose mostly fresh fruits and vegetables for your diet. However, if you are using pre-packaged foods and sauces, reading labels is the best way to ensure that you are not consuming any type of meat product or meat by-product.